sub navigation

sub navigation


Eric M. Warburg Award


“Eric M. Warburg as a person is the bridge over the Atlantic.” These are the words former German President Richard von Weizsäcker chose on the occasion of the first Eric M. Warburg Award ceremony in 1988 to honor the commitment of this great German-American, who worked to create a democratic Germany based on close German-American friendship. The award honors people in Germany and the United States who contributed to securing and fostering Germany’s place in the Atlantic Alliance in the spirit of Eric M. Warburg. Warburg himself was the first recipient of the award.


Previous Laureates

Dr. Richard von Weizsäcker (former President of the Federal Republic of Germany, 2014)

Helmut Schmidt (former Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany, 2012)

Dr. Angela Merkel (Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany, 2009)

Condoleezza Rice (U.S. Secretary of State, 2007)

George H.W. Bush (former President of the United States of America, 2002)

Otto Graf Lambsdorff (former German Minister of Economic Affairs, 2000)

General (ret.) Klaus Naumann (Chairman of the military board of NATO, 2000)

Veterans of the Berlin Airlift (on the 50th anniversary of the Berlin Airlift 1998) 

German Chancellor Dr. Helmut Kohl (1996)

Dr. Manfred Wörner (former Secretary General of NATO,1994)

Dr. Henry A. Kissinger (former U.S. Secretary of State,1992)

Paul H. Nitze (former U.S. Deputy Secretary of State, 1990)

Eric M. Warburg (Founder of Atlantik-Brücke e.V., 1988)